Of 99 fixed indexed annuities whose public documents state a numeric minimum annual cap, 86 (87%) let the insurer lower that cap to 1.00% or less, and 36 to 0.50% or less.
A fixed indexed annuity's cap is set by the insurer and can be lowered at each renewal, down to a contractual minimum written into the contract. Of 99 fixed indexed annuities whose public documents state a numeric minimum annual cap, 86 (87%) let the insurer lower that cap to 1.00% or less, and 36 to 0.50% or less. Across 74 products with a 2026-dated S&P 500 one-year cap, the median cap was 8.12% and the median contractual minimum was 1.00% (public documents checked October 4, 2026).
Insurers are named below only as the publishers of the documents cited. A low contractual minimum is a term of the contract, not a prediction: it marks how far the insurer is allowed to go, and it is the number to compare when you weigh a current cap.
How low the floors go
| Lowest the insurer can set the cap | Products | Share |
|---|---|---|
| 0.50% or less | 36 | 36% |
| Above 0.50% to 1.00% | 50 | 51% |
| Above 1.00% to 2.00% | 10 | 10% |
| Above 2.00% | 3 | 3% |
| Total with a published numeric minimum | 99 | 100% |
Methodology (as of October 4, 2026)
What we measured. For each fixed indexed annuity (FIA) and each crediting strategy, the contractual minimum the insurer may set: the minimum cap, the minimum participation rate, the maximum spread or margin, the minimum fixed-account rate, and any bailout provision. These minimums are contractual: they are backed by the claims-paying ability of the issuing insurer, not by the FDIC or any government agency.
Sources. Insurers' public rate pages and their footnotes, client disclosures and allocation forms, statements of understanding, specimen contracts, and SEC prospectuses (EDGAR). Each row of the CSV carries the source URL, a short verbatim quote, the form number where one exists, and the date checked. The state filing system SERFF (filingaccess.serff.com) was unavailable for every state we tried (login wall, 403 or 404 errors), so no SERFF filing was used.
Confidence grades. Verified: a public document from the insurer, the SEC, or a public broker page reproducing the insurer's document states the number. Partial (secondary source): the number comes from a secondary rate service (mostly AnnuityRatesHQ, which republishes CANNEX data) or from an older version of the form; treat these as provisional. Numbers found only in documents marked for agent or producer use are not published here; where that is the only source, the table says "producer-only document, not published". Products with no number found are listed as publishing no numeric minimum.
Coverage. 153 FIA product rows from 40 insurers, plus 25 RILA product rows. Site-specific or retired names that do not match a real product were dropped. Current caps are the most recent published rate we found and carry their own effective date; minimums are as stated in the cited document. Your own contract governs: a contract keeps the minimums printed in the version you were issued, so an older contract can differ from today's disclosure.
Counting rule. One row per product (product variants are split only when their minimums differ). A product counts when a public, verified or secondary-source document states a numeric minimum for an annual (one-year or multi-year term) cap; monthly caps are reported separately and not counted. Where a product has several cap strategies or phases, the lowest stated annual-cap minimum is used, including a lower minimum that applies after the surrender period. Numbers that appear only in material marked for agents are not counted and not shown. Registered index-linked annuities (RILAs) are reported in their own section. On verified primary documents alone, 57 of 62 products (92%) are at 1.00% or less.
The data: contractual minimums by product
Read each row as "today the insurer pays X; the contract lets it pay as little as Y." Blank cells mean the public document we found did not state that item. Monthly-cap minimums are shown in parentheses. Scroll the table sideways on a phone.
| Insurer | Product | S&P 500 1-yr cap (effective date) | Contractual minimum cap | Min. participation | Max. spread | Fixed account min. | Bailout | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allianz Life | Allianz 222 Annuity (C54370, Oregon-only for new sales) | 5.50% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz 222 Annuity (older issues, pre-MY methods) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 12.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz 222+ Annuity (C64997) | 5.50% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz 360 Annuity | 5.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz 360 Annuity (older issues) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 12.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz 365i Annuity (retired, in-force only) | not found | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 12.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Accumulation Advantage 5 Annuity (C64997) | 10.75% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Accumulation Advantage 7 Annuity (C64997) | 9.75% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Accumulation Advantage Annuity (C64237) | 8.75% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Accumulation Advantage Annuity (older issues / National) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 12.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Accumulation Advantage Classic Annuity (C64997) | 9.25% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Accumulation Advantage+ Annuity (C64997) | 6.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Benefit Control Annuity (C64237, Oregon-only) | 4.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Benefit Control+ Annuity (C64997) | 4.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Core Income 7 Annuity | 4.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% | 5.00% | 12.00% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Essential Income 7 Annuity (C61892-02-MVA) | 4.00% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% (3.00% years 1-7; 0.25% after) | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | ||
| Allianz Life | Allianz Retirement Foundation ADV Annuity | 4.50% (2026-10-06) | 0.25% | 0.10% | none found | allianzlife.com | Verified | ||
| American Equity | American Equity AssetShield 5/7/10 | 9.25% (2026-09-02) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 10.00% | 0.50% | Rate Integrity Rider: waiver rate set at issue | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| American Equity | American Equity IncomeShield 7/10/Bonus 10 | 5.75% (latest public sheet found: 2026-05-06) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 10.00% | 0.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| American General Life (Corebridge Financial) | Corebridge Power Select Builder | 10.50% (2026-10-01) | 1.00% | 5.00% | 9.50% | 1.00% | none found | adminplus.fgsfulfillment.com | Verified |
| American General Life (Corebridge Financial) | Corebridge Power Select Plus Income (Lifetime Income Plus Flex) | 3.50% (2026-10-01) | 1.00% | 5.00% | 9.50% | 1.00% | none found | adminplus.fgsfulfillment.com | Verified |
| American General Life (Corebridge Financial) | Corebridge Power Select Plus Income (Lifetime Income Plus Multiplier Flex) | 2.70% (2026-10-01) | 1.50% (2.00% (years 1-10), 1.50% (11+)) | 7.00% | 8.00% | 1.00% | none found | adminplus.fgsfulfillment.com | Verified |
| American National | ANICO Strategy Indexed Annuity PLUS (older series) | not found | 0.10% | 10.00% | 3.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| American National | Smart Start Accumulator Plus (10-yr; 5-yr version too) | 5.20% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 3.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| American National | Strategy Indexed Annuity PLUS 7 / PLUS 10 (ASIA PLUS) | 7.00% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%) | 10.00% | 3.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Americo | Americo Elite 5 | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 0.25% | none found | americo.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Americo | Growth Commander 6 / 10 | 7.85% (2026-08-29) | 1.00% | 5.00% | 0.15% | none found | growthcommanderfia.com | Verified | |
| Ameritas | ApexAdvantage Index Annuity (10-yr MSPDA) | not found | producer-only document, not published | 10.00% | 2.00% | none found | legacynet.com | Verified | |
| AmFirst Insurance Company | Trailhead FIA 5/7/10 (and Trailhead FIA PLUS) | not found | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.40% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Aspida | Synergy Choice Bonus | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Aspida | Synergy Choice Income | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Aspida | Synergy Choice Max 10 | 10.25% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.00% | S&P cap bailout, rate set at issue | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Athene | Athene Agility 10 | 5.50% (2026-08-28) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | 0.50%, equal to the floor | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Athene Agility 7 | 5.25% (2026-08-28) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | 0.50%, equal to the floor | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Athene Ascent Pro 10 | 7.25% (latest public sheet found: 2026-01-01) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | 1.00% (S&P 1-yr cap) | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Athene Ascent Pro 10 Bonus | 5.50% (2026-08-28) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | 1.00% (S&P 1-yr cap) | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Athene Ascent Pro 7 | 6.75% (latest public sheet found: 2026-01-01) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 1.00% | 3.00% (S&P 1-yr cap) | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Athene Performance Elite 10 / Performance Elite Plus 10 | 5.50% (2026-09-25) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | none found | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Athene Performance Elite 15 / Performance Elite Plus 15 | 7.00% (2026-09-25) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | none found | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Athene | Athene Performance Elite 7 / Performance Elite Plus 7 | 9.75% (2026-09-25) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | none found | files.ipipeline.com | Verified | |
| Atlantic Coast Life | Safe Anchor (5-yr FIA) | 4.10% (latest public sheet found: 2026-01-01) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 100% | 2.40% | none found | aclico.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Delaware Life | Delaware Life Growth Pathway 5/7 | not found | no numeric minimum published | Bailout cap rate on S&P 1-yr cap | cdn.bfldr.com | Verified | |||
| EquiTrust | EquiTrust MarketEdge Bonus Index | 6.75% (2026-09-15) | 1.00% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | agents.equitrust.com | Verified | |
| EquiTrust | EquiTrust MarketForce Bonus Index | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.00% | none found | agents.equitrust.com | Verified | ||
| EquiTrust | EquiTrust MarketPower Bonus Index | 8.25% (2026-09-15) | 1.00% (monthly cap 0.50%) | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | agents.equitrust.com | Verified | |
| F&G | F&G Flex Accumulator | 7.75% (latest public sheet found: 2026-04-09) | no numeric minimum published | 20.00% | 10.00% | none found | info.creativeone.com | Verified | |
| F&G | F&G Power Accumulator 7/10 | not found | no numeric minimum published | 15.00% | 15.00% | 1.00% | none found | info.creativeone.com | Verified |
| F&G | F&G Prosperity Elite 7/10/14 | 6.50% (latest public sheet found: 2025-11-14) | 1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%) | 100% | 5.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityresources.com | Partial (secondary source) |
| F&G | F&G Safe Income Advantage | not found | no numeric minimum published | 100% | 10.00% | none found | info.creativeone.com | Verified | |
| F&G | F&G Safe Income Plus | not found | 1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%) | 100% | 1.00% | none found | annuityresources.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| F&G | FG Accumulator Plus 10 (2011-2013 form, API-1018) | not found | monthly cap 3.00%; no annual cap floor published | none found | yigagents.com | Partial (secondary source) | |||
| F&G | FG AccumulatorPlus 7/10 | 8.50% (latest public sheet found: 2026-04-09) | 1.00% (1.00% (2019 statement of understanding); 3% (2013 version)) (monthly cap 1.00%) | 10.00% | 5.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityresources.com | Partial (secondary source) |
| Forethought Life (Global Atlantic) | Forethought ForeAccumulation II | 10.25% (2026-09-28) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 15.00% | 0.50% | none found | veritas-solutions.net | Verified |
| Forethought Life (Global Atlantic) | Forethought ForeIncome II | 5.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-04-27) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 15.00% | 0.50% | Per strategy, e.g. 3.00% (S&P cap) | veritas-solutions.net | Verified |
| Integrity Life (Western & Southern) | Indextra Series (5/7/10-yr) | 8.50% (2026-09-15) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 2.50% | none found | accessful.com | Verified | |
| Integrity Life (Western & Southern) | JourneyMark (10-yr; JM7/JM5 also offer GS Mariner) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 4.00% | 2.50% | none found | accessful.com | Verified | |
| Jackson National | MarketProtector (5/7-yr) | 7.75% (2026-10-05) | 1.00% (1.00% / 1.05% / 1.10%) | 10.00% | 10.00% | 2.40% | none found | jackson.com | Verified |
| Jackson National | MarketProtector Advisory (5/7/10-yr) | 9.10% (2026-10-05) | 1.00% (1.00% / 1.05% / 1.10%) | 10.00% | 10.00% | 2.40% | none found | jackson.com | Verified |
| Jackson National | MarketProtector III (Morgan Stanley distribution) | not found | 2.00% (2.00% (5-yr) / 3.00% (7/10-yr)) | 2.40% | none found | jackson.com | Verified | ||
| Life Insurance Company of the Southwest | FIT Secure Growth (flexible premium FIA) | not found | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | 403bcompare.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Lincoln | Lincoln Core Capital | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.65% | none found | visit.lfg.com | Verified | |
| Lincoln | Lincoln Covered Choice 5 II | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.65% | none found | visit.lfg.com | Verified | |
| Lincoln | Lincoln OptiBlend 10 | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.65% | none found | visit.lfg.com | Verified | |
| Lincoln | Lincoln OptiBlend 5 | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.65% | none found | visit.lfg.com | Verified | |
| Lincoln | Lincoln OptiBlend 5/7/10 (2022-2023 issues) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 5.00% | 20.00% | 0.10% | none found | lincolnfinancial.com | Verified |
| Lincoln | Lincoln OptiBlend 7 | not found | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.65% | none found | visit.lfg.com | Verified | |
| MassMutual Ascend | MassMutual Ascend American Legend 7 | 10.00% (2026-09-21) | 2.40% | 5.00% | 0.25% | none found | mybusiness.massmutualascend.com | Verified | |
| MassMutual Ascend | MassMutual Ascend Index Protector 7 | 10.00% (latest public sheet found: 2025-11-21) | 2.40% | 5.00% | 2.40% | none found | mybusiness.massmutualascend.com | Verified | |
| MassMutual Ascend | MassMutual Ascend Premier Income Bonus | not found | 2.40% | 5.00% | 2.40% | none found | mybusiness.massmutualascend.com | Verified | |
| Midland National | MNL Endeavor 8 | 9.60% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 5.00% | 25.00% | 0.25% | none found | midlandnational.com | Verified |
| Nassau | Nassau Growth Annuity (7/10-yr) | 10.50% (2026-10-02) | 0.75% | 5.00% | 2.35% | none found | assets.nfg.com | Verified | |
| National Western | NWL Ultra Classic (FPDA) | not found | 1.00% | 20.00% | 6.00% | 1.00% | none found | eapp.nationalwesternlife.com | Verified |
| National Western | NWL Ultra Future (FPDA, 9-yr) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 20.00% | 6.00% | 1.00% | none found | eapp.nationalwesternlife.com | Verified |
| New York Life | New York Life IndexFlex Fixed Annuity-FP Series (5/7-yr) | 10.00% (2026-10-05) | 0.50% (1.00% / 0.50%) | 0.05% | none found | assets.newyorklife.com | Verified | ||
| North American | NAC VersaChoice 10 | 10.10% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 5.00% | 15.00% | 0.25% | none found | fmiagent.com | Verified |
| North American | North American Charter Plus 10 | 6.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 5.00% | 0.25% | none found | fmiagent.com | Verified | |
| North American | North American Charter Plus 14 | 6.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 5.00% | 0.25% | none found | fmiagent.com | Verified | |
| North American | North American Charter Plus 14 (California fee version) | not found | 0.50% | 5.00% | 0.25% | none found | fmiagent.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| North American | North American Secure Horizon | not found | 0.50% | 5.00% | 0.10% | none found | northamericancompany.com | Verified | |
| North American | North American Secure Horizon Plus | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 0.10% | none found | northamericancompany.com | Verified | |
| North American | Performance Choice 8 | 8.90% (latest public sheet found: 2026-06-18) | 0.50% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 5.00% | 15.00% | 0.25% | none found | northamericancompany.com | Verified |
| Oceanview | Harbourview Fixed Indexed Annuity (3/5/7/10-yr, MVA) | 8.50% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%) | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Oceanview | Harbourview Fixed Indexed Annuity 10 (MVA) | not found | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Protective | Protective Asset Builder II | not found | no numeric minimum published | 2.55% | none found | delivery-p102752-e1161810.adobeaemcloud.com | Verified | ||
| Protective | Protective Income Builder | not found | 1.50% | 0.00% | none found | finpro.protective.com | Partial (secondary source) | ||
| Protective | Protective Indexed Annuity II | 7.00% (2026-09-29) | no numeric minimum published | 2.55% | none found | delivery-p102752-e1161810.adobeaemcloud.com | Partial (secondary source) | ||
| Prudential (Pruco Life) | SurePath (7/10-yr) | 10.25% (2026-09-01) | 1.00% | 1.00% | none found | prudential.scene7.com | Verified | ||
| Prudential (Pruco Life) | SurePath Income | 4.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-03-17) | 1.00% | 5.00% | 1.00% | none found | prudential.scene7.com | Verified | |
| Sagicor | Sage Accumulator FIA 5/7/10 (successor to Platinum Series) | 10.75% (2026-08-19) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Securian (Minnesota Life) | SecureLink Chronic Illness Access | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 0.50% | none found | fmiagent.com | Verified | |
| Securian (Minnesota Life) | SecureLink Ultra 5 / Ultra 7 | 10.05% (latest public sheet found: 2025-03-15) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 0.50% | none found | fmiagent.com | Verified | |
| Sentinel Security Life | Accumulation Protector Plus Annuity (10-yr, 20% bonus) | 6.25% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 2.40% | none found | sslco.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Sentinel Security Life | Personal Choice Plus+ (5-yr) | 4.10% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% (monthly cap 1.00%) | 2.40% | none found | sslco.com | Partial (secondary source) | ||
| Sentinel Security Life | Summit Bonus Index (10-yr, 7% bonus) | 2.50% (2026-10-04) | 0.25% (monthly cap 0.25%) | 1.00% | none found | sslco.com | Partial (secondary source) | ||
| SILAC | SILAC Denali 10 (Denali Series, 10-yr) | 9.00% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC Denali 14 (Denali Series, 14-yr) | 10.25% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC Denali 7 (Denali Series, 7-yr) | 8.50% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC Denali Bonus 10 | 6.00% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC Denali Bonus 14 | 6.75% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC Evolve 14 (income-focused FIA) | 10.25% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| SILAC | SILAC Teton 14 (Teton Series) | 8.25% (2026-10-02) | 1.50% (monthly cap 1.50%) | 15.00% | 2.50% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Symetra | Symetra Edge Elite | 11.00% (2026-10-01) | 1.00% (2.00%/3.00% in withdrawal-charge period; 1.00% after) | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | symetra.com | Verified | |
| Symetra | Symetra Edge Plus (legacy; 12/2023 sheet) | not found | monthly cap 1.00%; no annual cap floor published | 4.50% | 0.50% | none found | symetra.com | Verified | |
| Symetra | Symetra Edge Pro (legacy; last public rate sheet 10/2022) | not found | monthly cap 1.00%; no annual cap floor published | 0.50% | none found | symetra.com | Verified | ||
| Symetra | Symetra Stride | 5.00% (latest public sheet found: 2026-03-03) | 0.50% | 10.00% | 0.25% | none found | symetra.com | Verified | |
| The Standard | EclipseMark 10 (distributor-specific Standard FIA) | 9.50% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| The Standard | EclipseMark 5 (distributor-specific Standard FIA) | 8.00% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| The Standard | Enhanced Choice Index Plus 5/7/10 (ECI Plus, 2025 version) | 9.25% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 0.10% | none found | standard.com | Verified | |
| The Standard | Index Select Annuity 10 | 8.50% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% | 15.00% | 0.10% | none found | standard.com | Verified | |
| The Standard | Index Select Annuity 5 | 8.75% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% | 15.00% | 0.10% | none found | standard.com | Verified | |
| The Standard | Index Select Annuity 7 | 9.00% (2026-10-04) | 1.00% | 15.00% | 0.10% | none found | standard.com | Verified | |
| The Standard | Thrive Plus 10 (distributor-specific Standard FIA) | 9.50% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 0.10% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| The Standard | Thrive Plus 10 Bonus (distributor-specific Standard FIA) | 6.50% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 0.10% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| The Standard | Thrive Plus 7 (distributor-specific Standard FIA) | 9.00% (2026-10-02) | 1.00% | 10.00% | 0.10% | none found | annuityrateshq.com | Partial (secondary source) | |
| Thrivent | Thrivent Secure Retirement Builder Fixed Indexed Annuity (with GLWB) | 9.00% (2026-09-28) | 1.00% | 0.50% | none found | thrivent.com | Verified | ||
| Thrivent | Thrivent Security Preference Fixed Indexed Annuity | 9.25% (2026-09-28) | 1.00% | 0.50% | none found | thrivent.com | Verified | ||
| Transamerica | Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (10-yr) [closed to new sales] | not found | 1.00% (1.00% during surrender period; 1.00% after) | 100% | 0.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuitynest.com | Verified |
| Transamerica | Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (5-yr) [closed to new sales] | not found | 1.00% (2.00% during surrender period; 1.00% after) | 100% | 0.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuitynest.com | Verified |
| Transamerica | Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (8-yr) [closed to new sales] | not found | 1.00% (3.00% during surrender period; 1.00% after) | 100% | 0.00% | 1.00% | none found | annuitynest.com | Verified |
| Transamerica | Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (all terms) [closed] | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.00% | none found | annuitynest.com | Verified | ||
| Transamerica | Transamerica Secure Retirement Index II Annuity (10-yr) [closed] | not found | no numeric minimum published | 10.00% | 10.00% | 1.00% | none found | stayretired.org | Verified |
| USAA Life | USAA Fixed Indexed Annuity (7-yr) | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.70% | none found | usaa.com | Verified | ||
| Voya (now Venerable) | Voya Secure Index Five Annuity [closed] | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.00% | none found | amsfsg.com | Verified | ||
| Voya (now Venerable) | Voya Secure Index Opportunities Plus Annuity (10-yr, 5% bonus) [closed] | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.00% | none found | amsfsg.com | Verified | ||
| Voya (now Venerable) | Voya Secure Index Seven Annuity [closed] | not found | no numeric minimum published | 1.00% | none found | amsfsg.com | Verified |
The widest gaps between today's cap and the contractual minimum
Verified documents only, S&P 500 one-year cap, rates effective August 2026 or later:
- Allianz Accumulation Advantage 5 Annuity (C64997): 10.75% S&P 500 one-year cap effective 2026-10-06, contractual minimum 0.25%.
- Symetra Edge Elite: 11.00% S&P 500 one-year cap effective 2026-10-01, contractual minimum 1.00% (2.00%/3.00% in withdrawal-charge period; 1.00% after).
- Nassau Growth Annuity (7/10-yr): 10.50% S&P 500 one-year cap effective 2026-10-02, contractual minimum 0.75%.
- Allianz Accumulation Advantage 7 Annuity (C64997): 9.75% S&P 500 one-year cap effective 2026-10-06, contractual minimum 0.25%.
- Corebridge Power Select Builder: 10.50% S&P 500 one-year cap effective 2026-10-01, contractual minimum 1.00%.
- New York Life IndexFlex Fixed Annuity-FP Series (5/7-yr): 10.00% S&P 500 one-year cap effective 2026-10-05, contractual minimum 0.50% (1.00% / 0.50%).
- Athene Performance Elite 7 / Performance Elite Plus 7: 9.75% S&P 500 one-year cap effective 2026-09-25, contractual minimum 0.50%.
- Forethought ForeAccumulation II: 10.25% S&P 500 one-year cap effective 2026-09-28, contractual minimum 1.00%.
Spreads and margins can work the same way. The contractual maximum daily-average margin on Midland National's MNL Endeavor 8 is 25.00% (rate disclosure 41062Y, June 18, 2026), so the averaged index gain would have to exceed 25% before that strategy credits anything. North American's VersaChoice 10 and Performance Choice 8 allow a 15.00% maximum spread, and Forethought's ForeAccumulation II and ForeIncome II also allow 15.00%. At the other end, a higher floor does not always mean much room above it: Corebridge Power Select Plus Income with the Lifetime Income Plus Multiplier Flex rider states a 2.00% minimum cap in years 1 to 10, and its current S&P 500 cap is 2.70%, 0.70 points above that floor (rate sheet effective October 1, 2026).
How the floors have moved
- F&G AccumulatorPlus 10. The 2011 to 2013 statement of understanding (form ADV1206, revised November 2013, published on a broker site) listed a 3% minimum annual cap. The 2019 version (ADV1711, revised September 2019) says the annual cap "will never be less than 1.00%". F&G's April 9, 2026 rate sheet footnotes participation-rate floors and spread maximums but no cap floor (secondary-source grade for the older forms).
- North American. Current public disclosures, for example the Charter Plus 10 disclosure (form 32541Z-4), state a 0.50% minimum cap and a 0.25% minimum monthly cap. The minimums on 2014-era North American contracts appear only in an agent-use-only guide, so they are not published here.
The practical point: the floor that applies to you is the one printed in your own contract and its data pages, by issue date and state. A disclosure for today's version can be lower or higher than what an older contract promised.
Bailout provisions: few, and one that cannot trigger
A bailout lets you leave without a surrender charge if the insurer declares a cap below a stated rate. In the public documents we checked, they are rare:
- Athene Agility 7 and 10: the bailout cap rate on the S&P 500 one-year cap is 0.50%, the same as the contractual minimum cap. Because the declared cap can never be below 0.50%, the bailout as written cannot be triggered (Athene allocation form, files.ipipeline.com).
- Athene Ascent Pro: 3.00% on the 7-year version and 1.00% on the 10-year versions, with a 30-day window after the anniversary.
- Delaware Life Retirement Stages Select and Target Growth 10: 2.00% bailout cap rate on the S&P 500 one-year cap (Delaware Life rate sheets, October 1, 2026), although the cap minimum itself is not stated in those documents.
- Forethought ForeIncome II: a withdrawal charge waiver with a separate bailout rate per strategy, for example 3.00% on the S&P 500 cap.
- American Equity AssetShield: a Rate Integrity Rider waives surrender charges if a cap or participation rate is declared at or below a waiver rate set at issue (secondary source).
- Aspida Synergy Choice Max: an S&P 500 cap bailout with the rate set at issue (secondary source).
We found no bailout in the public documents of Allianz, North American, Midland National, Lincoln, F&G, Nationwide, MassMutual Ascend or Symetra.
Products that publish no numeric minimum cap
For 54 FIA product rows we found no public numeric minimum annual cap. In several, the document says only that rates will "never be less than the guaranteed minimum" described in the contract, so the number is visible only in the contract you receive. Some of these products publish other minimums (participation, spread or fixed account); those are in the table and the CSV.
- Allianz Life: Allianz 222 Annuity (older issues, pre-MY methods); Allianz 360 Annuity (older issues); Allianz Accumulation Advantage Annuity (older issues / National); Allianz MasterDex series (MasterDex X / Xe / 5 / 10 / Plus; retired)
- American Equity: American Equity 'Foundation' (Foundation Gold); American Equity EstateShield 10 / 9 (CA)
- American General Life (Corebridge Financial): Corebridge Power Index Preferred (legacy)
- American Life & Security: MaxGrowth 10 / MaxGrowth 10 Bonus (producer-only document, not published)
- Americo: Americo Elite 5; LibertyMark Freedom 7 / 10 / 10 Plus / 10 LT (producer-only document, not published); OptiMark / OptiMark LT (12% bonus) (producer-only document, not published); Ultimate One Index 7 / 9 / 9 Bonus
- Ameritas: Ameritas Income 10 Index Annuity (FPDA); ApexAdvantage Index Annuity (10-yr MSPDA) (producer-only document, not published); FlexMark Select / Plus / LT (SPDA) (producer-only document, not published)
- Athene: Athene BCA 2.0 (6/8/10/12); Athene TargetHorizon 5/10/15 (legacy); Athene Velocity (10-yr)
- Delaware Life: Delaware Life Growth Pathway 5/7; Delaware Life Retirement Stages Select 5/7; Delaware Life Target Growth 10
- EquiTrust: EquiTrust MarketBooster Index (legacy); EquiTrust MarketForce Bonus Index
- F&G: F&G Flex Accumulator; F&G Power Accumulator 7/10; F&G Safe Income Advantage; FG Accumulator Plus 10 (2011-2013 form, API-1018)
- Integrity Life (Western & Southern): JourneyMark (10-yr; JM7/JM5 also offer GS Mariner)
- Life Insurance Company of the Southwest: Zenith Growth 10 / Growth Driver 10 / Flex Secure Growth
- Lincoln: Lincoln OptiBlend 5/7/10 (2022-2023 issues)
- Midland National: MNL Capstone 10 / 14; MNL IndexBuilder 10 / 14
- National Western: NWL Ultra Future (FPDA, 9-yr)
- Nationwide: Nationwide New Heights Select 9 / 12; Nationwide Peak 10 / Peak 10 Bonus
- North American: NAC RetireChoice 10 / 14 (discontinued) (producer-only document, not published); North American Secure Horizon Plus; Performance Choice 8/8 Plus/12/12 Plus (2014-era issues) (producer-only document, not published)
- Pacific Life: Pacific Index Edge; Pacific Index Foundation; Pacific Index Foundation 2; Pacific Index Income
- Protective: Protective Asset Builder II; Protective Indexed Annuity II
- Securian (Minnesota Life): SecureLink Assure / SecureLink Future; SecureLink Chronic Illness Access
- Symetra: Symetra Edge Plus (legacy; 12/2023 sheet); Symetra Edge Pro (legacy; last public rate sheet 10/2022)
- Transamerica: Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (all terms) [closed]; Transamerica Secure Retirement Index II Annuity (10-yr) [closed]
- USAA Life: USAA Fixed Indexed Annuity (7-yr)
- Voya (now Venerable): Voya Secure Index Five Annuity [closed]; Voya Secure Index Opportunities Plus Annuity (10-yr, 5% bonus) [closed]; Voya Secure Index Seven Annuity [closed]
Allianz's newest contract series (222+, Benefit Control+ and Accumulation Advantage Classic) refer to minimums "stated in the Statement of Understanding", which is not public; the table fills them from sister products on the same base contract and grades them partial.
Rate locks: the protection that matters more than the floor
A floor tells you the worst case. A lock tells you the rate will not move for a stated period. In public documents, these strategies lock a cap or rate for the surrender period or a multi-year term:
- New York Life IndexFlex: the cap or trigger is set at issue and guaranteed for the initial term, which equals the surrender period (New York Life client rate sheet, October 5, 2026).
- Integrity Indextra: an S&P 500 one-year cap lock for the full withdrawal-charge period.
- The Standard Enhanced Choice Index Plus: an S&P 500 Locked Cap for 5 or 7 years, at purchase only (2025 specimen contract).
- MassMutual Ascend Index Protector 7: an S&P 500 7-year cap lock (rates page dated November 21, 2025).
- Lincoln OptiBlend, Core Capital and Covered Choice: "5 Year Lock" accounts guaranteed for the initial five years (Lincoln fact sheets).
- Protective Indexed Annuity II: the S&P 500 cap is constant for the withdrawal-charge period (secondary source).
- Pacific Index Foundation: caps and triggered rates set at issue and guaranteed for the initial guarantee period (Pacific Life product guide).
A lock trades flexibility for certainty. If certainty of the rate is the main goal, compare it with a fixed-rate annuity that declares its rate for the whole term.
RILAs: reported separately
Registered index-linked annuities are securities. Their buffers or floors limit losses rather than guarantee principal, so a low cap floor is a different trade-off than in a fixed indexed annuity. The minimums below come mostly from SEC prospectuses. Two examples: Nationwide Defender's prospectus states a minimum cap of 0.05% for the life of the contract on every index strategy, while Equitable's Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 prospectus states a 12% minimum performance cap rate for 6-year segments and 2% for 1-year segments.
| Insurer | Product | Contractual minimum cap | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allianz Life | Allianz Index Advantage Income Variable Annuity (RILA, older) | 0.50% (3% (1-yr Performance/Guard); 0.50% (Protection)) | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Index Advantage+ Income Variable Annuity (RILA) | 0.50% | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Allianz Index Advantage+ Variable Annuity (RILA) | 2.00% | allianzlife.com | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Index Advantage (legacy) | 1.50% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Index Advantage NF (legacy) | 0.10% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Index Advantage+ | 2.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Index Advantage+ Income | 0.50% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Allianz Life | Index Advantage+ NF (no-fee/advisory) | 0.10% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Athene | Athene Amplify 2.0 | 2.00% (2.00% (1-yr) / 4.00% (2-yr) / 12.00% (6-yr)) | SEC filing | Verified |
| Athene | Athene Amplify 2.0 NF (advisory) | 1.00% (1.00% (1-yr) / 2.00% (2-yr) / 6.00% (6-yr)) | SEC filing | Verified |
| Brighthouse Financial | Shield Level II 6-Year (successor to Shield Level Select 6-Year) | 2.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Brighthouse Financial | Shield Level Pay Plus II | 2.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Brighthouse Financial | Shield Level Select 6-Year / 3-Year (2025 S-3 re-registration) | 2.00% | SEC filing | Partial (secondary source) |
| Equitable | Structured Capital Strategies PLUS (original, closed to new sales) | 2.00% (Standard 6-yr 12%, 1-yr 2%; Annual Lock 2%; Step Up 2%; Dual Direction 12%/15%/20% (by -10/-15/-20 buffer); Enhanced Upside 12%) | SEC filing | Verified |
| Equitable | Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 (New York) | 4.50% (6-yr: 30% / 27% / 24% (buffer -10/-15/-20); 1-yr: 5% / 4.5% (buffer -10/-15); Annual Lock & Step Up 5%) | SEC filing | Verified |
| Equitable | Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 (Series B) | 2.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Great American Life | Great American registered index-linked annuity (2015 registration) | no numeric minimum published | SEC filing | Partial (secondary source) |
| Jackson National | Market Link Pro (Market Link Pro Suite) | 1.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Lincoln | Lincoln Level Advantage 2 (B-Share) | 0.10% | SEC filing | Verified |
| MassMutual Ascend | MassMutual Ascend Index Achiever / Index Achiever Advisory | 1.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| MassMutual Ascend | MassMutual Ascend Index Summit 6 / 6 Pro | 1.00% | mybusiness.massmutualascend.com | Verified |
| Nationwide | Nationwide Defender Annuity | 0.05% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Prudential (Pruco Life) | FlexGuard 2.0 | 1.00% | SEC filing | Verified |
| Prudential (Pruco Life) | FlexGuard Income | 1.00% (1.00% / 10.00%) | SEC filing | Verified |
| Symetra | Symetra Trek (RILA) | 1.00% (2% during surrender period; 1% after) | SEC filing | Verified |
If a known rate matters most
An indexed annuity pays a declared cap for one term, then whatever the insurer declares next, down to the contractual minimum. A fixed-rate deferred annuity (often called a multi-year guaranteed annuity, or MYGA) declares its rate for the whole term in the contract, and a bank CD does the same for its term. If the reason for buying is a predictable rate, compare the locked rate on those products with the minimum, not the current cap, on an indexed annuity.
Questions to ask your agent
- What is the guaranteed minimum cap, minimum participation rate and maximum spread for each strategy I am choosing? Please show me the page of the contract or statement of understanding where it is written.
- Is there a bailout provision? At what declared cap does it let me leave without a surrender charge, and is that rate above the minimum cap?
- Is any cap locked for the surrender period, or is every rate reset each year at the insurer's discretion?
- What is the full surrender schedule by year, is there a market value adjustment (MVA), and how much can I withdraw each year without a charge?
- How are you paid on this product? Annuity agents are usually paid a commission by the insurer, built into the product's pricing rather than deducted from your premium. What is the percentage, and does a longer surrender term pay you more?
Sources (checked October 4, 2026)
- Allianz 222 Annuity (C54370, Oregon-only for new sales): allianzlife.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Allianz 222+ Annuity (C64997): allianzlife.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Corebridge Power Select Builder: adminplus.fgsfulfillment.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Corebridge Power Select Plus Income (Lifetime Income Plus Flex): adminplus.fgsfulfillment.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Americo Growth Commander 6 / 10: growthcommanderfia.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Athene Agility 10: files.ipipeline.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Athene Amplify 2.0: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
- Atlantic Coast Life Safe Anchor (5-yr FIA): aclico.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Brighthouse Financial Shield Level II 6-Year (successor to Shield Level Select 6-Year): SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
- Brighthouse Financial Shield Level Pay Plus II: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
- Equitable Structured Capital Strategies PLUS (original, closed to new sales): SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
- Equitable Structured Capital Strategies PLUS 21 (New York): SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
- EquiTrust MarketEdge Bonus Index: agents.equitrust.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- EquiTrust MarketPower Bonus Index: agents.equitrust.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- F&G Prosperity Elite 7/10/14: annuityresources.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- F&G Safe Income Plus: annuityresources.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Forethought ForeAccumulation II: veritas-solutions.net (checked October 4, 2026)
- Forethought ForeIncome II: veritas-solutions.net (checked October 4, 2026)
- Integrity Life (Western & Southern) Indextra Series (5/7/10-yr): accessful.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Jackson National Market Link Pro (Market Link Pro Suite): SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
- Jackson National MarketProtector (5/7-yr): jackson.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Life Insurance Company of the Southwest FIT Secure Growth (flexible premium FIA): 403bcompare.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Lincoln Core Capital: visit.lfg.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Lincoln Covered Choice 5 II: visit.lfg.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- MassMutual Ascend American Legend 7: mybusiness.massmutualascend.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- MassMutual Ascend Index Achiever / Index Achiever Advisory: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
- Midland National MNL Endeavor 8: midlandnational.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Nassau Growth Annuity (7/10-yr): assets.nfg.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- National Western NWL Ultra Classic (FPDA): eapp.nationalwesternlife.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Nationwide Defender Annuity: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
- New York Life IndexFlex Fixed Annuity-FP Series (5/7-yr): assets.newyorklife.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- North American NAC VersaChoice 10: fmiagent.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- North American Charter Plus 10: fmiagent.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Protective Income Builder: finpro.protective.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Prudential (Pruco Life) FlexGuard 2.0: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
- Prudential (Pruco Life) FlexGuard Income: SEC filing (checked October 4, 2026)
- Securian (Minnesota Life) SecureLink Ultra 5 / Ultra 7: fmiagent.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Sentinel Security Life Accumulation Protector Plus Annuity (10-yr, 20% bonus): sslco.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Symetra Edge Elite: symetra.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Symetra Stride: symetra.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- The Standard Enhanced Choice Index Plus 5/7/10 (ECI Plus, 2025 version): standard.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- The Standard Index Select Annuity 10: standard.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Thrivent Secure Retirement Builder Fixed Indexed Annuity (with GLWB): thrivent.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Thrivent Security Preference Fixed Indexed Annuity: thrivent.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Transamerica Secure Retirement Index Annuity (10-yr) [closed to new sales]: annuitynest.com (checked October 4, 2026)
- Secondary source for rows graded partial: AnnuityRatesHQ (republished CANNEX rate data, checked October 2 to 4, 2026)
- Every row with its own source URL, quote and form number: the CSV
Goldstein, H. (2026, October 4). FIA Guaranteed Minimum Caps: How Low the Insurer Can Cut Your Cap. Retirement Literacy Foundation. https://retirementliteracyfoundation.org/research/fia-guaranteed-minimum-caps/
Journalists and educators may quote and chart these findings with a link to this page. Data: download the CSV (970 strategy rows, verified and secondary-source only, each with its source URL, quote, form number and date). As of October 4, 2026.
Get the free Social Security guide.
You’re reading about Annuity commissions. Social Security touches almost all of it, and it is where the costliest mistakes happen. We’ll email you our guide, the taxable-benefit thresholds, the survivor-benefit trap and the claiming-age math, in plain English, plus an invite to the next free class. This is a public charity; there is nothing to buy.
The Retirement Literacy Foundation is a 501(c)(3) public charity (EIN 41-5062266). Free public education only. We don’t sell financial products and we don’t give individualized advice. Phone is optional. Leave it blank and we’ll only email you. Unsubscribe any time.